Welcome to Mysooru News

mysore latest news

Party first! With Srivatsa’s win, KR Constituency remains BJP stronghold

1 min read

Mysuru: Party matters, not candidate. This aptly suits Krishnaraja assembly constituency in Mysuru city, which continues to remain a BJP stronghold.

T S Srivatsa the BJP candidate defeated two- time Congress MLA M K Somashekar, by a margin of 7,220 votes, in the Assembly elections and results were declared on Saturday.

Srivatsa, for whom it was also his debut election secured 73,670 votes against his nearest rival Somashekar’s 66,457 votes. 

Srivatsa the City BJP President was chosen as the candidate in the place of sitting MLA S A Ramadass.

Initially, there were murmurs about Srivatsa’s ability to win elections against seasoned leader like Somashekar who is also a Siddaramaiah loyalist.

But, the constituency which has highest of Lingayat and Brahmin voters, along with Kurubas, Vokkaligas, SC/ ST, Muslims, Christians and others, proved its loyalty to BJP again, no matter who is the candidate.

Ramadass had won the elections four times from the constituency in 1994, 1999, 2008 and 2018  and previously advocate late H Gangadharan had been elected on BJP ticket in the constituency in 1983. 

– Team Mysoorunews 

Mysooru News

Share this