Welcome to Mysooru News

mysore latest news

No hike in fees for engineering courses, MIT Mysore among four colleges to teach in Kannada

2 min read

Bengaluru: “The government and private colleges have reached a consensus not to hike the fees of engineering courses,” asserted Minister for Higher Education Dr C   N Ashwatha Narayana on Wednesday.

This decision was taken at a meeting with the representatives of private colleges held at Vikasa Soudha.

Accordingly, the fees for the engineering courses in private colleges for students under government quota will continue in two different slabs of Rs 65,340 and Rs 58,806, the Minister clarified.

“The other important decisions were- maximum ceiling of Rs 20,000 each has been fixed for fees collected in the form of ‘miscellaneous fees’ and ‘skill fees’, complying with the recommendations of a VTU VC Prof Karisiddappa headed committee.

“The other decision is related to payment of admission fees, miscellaneous fees and skill fees at colleges. Henceforth, these fees should be remitted at Karnataka Examination Authority (KEA). Earlier ‘miscellaneous fees’ was varying from college to college in the range of Rs 10,000 to Rs 70,000. Now, this should not exceed Rs 20,000. Before fixing the ‘miscellaneous fees, colleges should notify the purposes for which it is being collected. The same information needs to be provided to KEA, Department of Technical Education and VTU and published on the website.”

A team from VTU will inspect the colleges and fix any one of the fees depending on the training facilities and quality which also should be remitted to KEA.

While the private colleges wanted a 30% fee hike, the Prof Karisiddappa panel had recommended between 15%-25%.

The minister also informed that some of the engineering courses will be offered in Kannada from this year. Four colleges in the State are all set to teach in Kannada.

They are- Bheemanna Khandre Institute of Technology, Bhalki (Civil), BLDAE VP Dr P G Halakatti College of Engineering, Vijayapura (Civil), SJC Institute of Technology, Chikkaballapura (Mechanical), and Maharaja Institute of Technology, Mysuru (Mechanical), the minister added.

– Team Mysoorunews

Share this