Welcome to Mysooru News

mysore latest news

Mysurean Na Srinivas named Chairman of committee to decide on artistes, writers pension

1 min read

Mysuru: Mysuru based Na Srinivas (Papu) is appointed as the chairman of Pension Selection Committee for the artistes and litterateurs in crises. He is appointed for the year 2019-2020 and 2020-2021 year.

Srinivas is a Mysuru based theatre personality and honorary president of Karnataka Ranga Parishat.

As an active theatre personality and director of Creative Academy of Theatre science (CATS), Srinivas has made a mark in the field of theatre.

Karnataka government is providing monthly Rs 2,000 pension to senior artistes and writers in dire straits. A total of 19 Academies in the State come under the Pension committee.

Apart from chairman, nine members and one member secretary from the Department of Kannada and Culture have been appointed to the committee.

Srinivas told Mysoorunews.com “I thank the government for recognising a Mysurean for this Committee. It’s a humble tribute to the artistes who have been serving the field of theatre. Though the the amount of pension given to artistes is not rosy, it must be a priority of the respective governments.” 

– Team Mysoorunews

Mysooru News

Share this