Welcome to Mysooru News

mysore latest news

Four journalists win KV Srinivasan’s Endeavor to Empower Journalists Endowment awards

1 min read

Mysuru: Senior Journalist KV Srinivasan’s Endeavor to Empower Journalists Endowment Awards would be given away to four journalists for their outstanding contribution in the field of journalism.

With a view to encourage journalists, Srinivasan, fondly called as ‘Brother’ among the Mysuru mediapersons, has established the awards in the Mysuru District Journalists Association.

Here are the winners of the award: The Mahathma Gandhi Endowment Award for Print Media would be presented to R Suvarna (Nagarabelaku), The Janakamma Venkatappa Gowda Endowment Award for Photography to Sriram MA (The Hindu), The KV Srinivasan Award for Rural Reporting to S Manjunath (HD Kote Mysuru Mithra), and The JP Award (for Electronic media personnel) to Bapulingaraj Urs (Kasturi TV).

ST Ravikumar, President of the Mysuru District Journalists Association, along with General Secretary Subramanya and other office-bearers congratulated the winners.

KV Srinivasan entered the field through activism and actively participated in the Anti-Hindi movement in 1967-68. He later went on to establish a Kannada daily newspaper in Mysuru. Srinivasan, a true follower of MK Gandhi, currently resides in his hometown of Kalkunike in Hunsur taluk.

Having served as a reporter for renowned publications such as ‘Mahanandi’, ‘Navadhwani’, ‘Sankranthi’, ‘Ashoka’, and ‘All India Radio’ in Mysuru for an impressive 21 years, he retired in 2007. Throughout his career, Srinivasan has been a source of inspiration for countless journalists in Mysuru.

-Team Mysoorunews



Mysooru News

Share this