Welcome to Mysooru News

mysore latest news

Congress’ tally in Assembly now stands at 136 as Independent MLA M P Latha made co-member of party

2 min read

Bengaluru: After offering her “unconditional support” to Congress party, Latha Mallikarjuna who won from Harapanahalli Assembly constituency, as an independent candidate has been made the co-member of the Congress party.

With this, the Congress tally in the Assembly now stands at 136. It had won 135 seats in the just concluded Assembly elections.

During the Congress Legislature Party meeting on Wednesday, Latha Mallikarjuna had seconded her support to the Congress and the CLP meeting approved her as co-member of the Congress.

Tweeting the same, Chief Minister Siddaramaiah said that the CLP has approved Independent candidate Latha Mallikarjuna as Co-member of the Congress. She will now support Congress in the House.

After the election results were out, KPCC president D K Shivakumar, Siddaramaiah and Congress leader, Karnataka in-charge Randeep Singh Surjewala had met M P Latha Mallikarjuna. She was expected to offer her support to the Congress.

Daughter of former deputy chief minister, Late M P Prakash, Latha Mallikarjuna had contested from Harapanahalli as an Independent candidate after the Congress offered ticket to N Kotreshi. In fact, MP Prakash’s daughters both Latha and M P Veena were aspirants for the Congress ticket but the party wanted to give ticket to only one person. In the end, the party offered ticket to Kotreshi and he lost.

Latha defeated BJP’s Karunakara Reddy, Congress’ N Kotreshi and JDS’ N M Noor Ahmed.

Harapanahalli was represented by former deputy chief minister Late M P Prakash and his son Late M P Ravindra in 2013. However, Ravindra lost the election in 2018.

– Team Mysoorunews

Mysooru News

Share this