Welcome to Mysooru News

mysore latest news

Congress candidate Dr D Thimmaiah files papers for council poll from Mysuru- Chamarajanagar seat

1 min read

Mysuru: Congress candidate Dr D Thimmaiah submitted his nomination for the election to Legislative Council from Mysuru-Chamarajanagar local bodies constituency on Tuesday. The elections for 25 seats from 20 constituencies is on December 10.

Thimmaiah along with KPCC Working President R Dhruvanarayana, former minister Dr H C Mahadevappa, MLA Tanveer Sait, City Congress president R Murthy and Rural Congress Committee President Dr B J Vijay Kumar, came on foot to the deputy commissioner’s office and submitted the nomination.

Thimmaiah a native of Hunsur, worked as Health officer in Mysuru and Kodagu districts. He began his stint in politics from JDS and later defected to BJP.

While he joined Congress party in the recent years and succeeded in getting ticket for Council poll from Mysuru-Chamarajanagar constituency.

Soon after his candidature was announced, Thimmaiah met Opposition Leader Siddaramaiah at the latter’s house in Bengaluru to say thanks for giving the opportunity.

Sitting MLC R Dharmasena whose term expires in January 2022 had also lobbied hard for ticket, but Thimmaiah eventually succeeded in getting the ticket.

Another strong ticket aspirant C N Manjegowda was miffed at denying the opportunity and swiftly tendered his resignation, before filing his papers as JDS nominee.

РTeam Mysoorunews 

Share this