Welcome to Mysooru News

mysore latest news

BJP, JDS boycott Assembly session for two days to protest against MLAs’ suspension

1 min read

Bengaluru: Protesting against suspension of 10 BJP legislators for their unruly behaviour towards Deputy Speaker Rudrappa Lamani in the Assembly on Wednesday, Opposition party BJP has decided to stay away from the House proceedings for two days. Along with BJP, JDS too has boycotted the session.

Speaker U T Khader suspended BJP MLAs R Ashok, Dr Ashwath Narayana, V Sunil Kumar, Arvind Bellad, Vedvyas Kamath, Yashpal Suvarna, Dheeraj Muniraj, Araga Jnanendra, Bharath Y Shetty and Umanath Kotian from the session till it lasts (July 21).

Meanwhile, the Opposition parties have decided to lodge their complaint with the Governor on Thursday. The opposition parties have been complaining that the ruling Congress has misused the state bureaucratic machinery by deputing IAS officers to receive various political party leaders who had come to Bengaluru as part of Opposition Parties meeting on July 17 and July 18.

It was JDS MLA and former chief minister H D Kumaraswamy who took a dig at the Congress saying the State bureaucracy has never been misused to this extent in the last 40 years.

“This is a total misuse of government machinery,” Kumaraswamy had said.

Responding to the allegations, Chief Minister Siddaramaiah defended the move saying many of the visitors were chief ministers and guests of the State. His Deputy, D K Shivakumar too said that “IAS officers were deputed as part of protocol as the leaders were guests of the State.”

– Team Mysoorunews 

Mysooru News

Share this