Welcome to Mysooru News

mysore latest news

APMC presidential polls! It’s Siddaramaiah V/s GTD again, BJP votes decisive

1 min read

Mysuru: Two years after Chamundeshwari Assembly constituency set the stage for a high profile electoral battle between former chief minister Siddaramaiah and his friend turned foe G T Devegowda, they are sharpening their fangs for yet another battle, albeit indirectly.

Elections to president and vice- president of APMC is scheduled to be held on June 26, for the remaining last 20-month term.

As usual, the fight for the key posts is between the supporters of Congress and Janata Dal (Secular) who owe their allegiance to Siddaramaiah and Gowda respectively.

Of the 16- member committee, Congress and JD(S) have six each, while BJP has three nominated members and another representing the traders. If taken a closer look, BJP votes are the deciding factor.

Amid this, the incumbent president Prabhuswamy representing Congress is planning for yet another term. While Vice- president Jawarappa of JD(S) is also playing cards close to his chest to catapult to president’s chair.

– Team Mysoorunews

Mysooru News

Share this